30-09-2016: A. EEA Financial Mechanism 2009-2014

Through the  European Economic Area (EEA) Agreement , Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are partners in the internal market with the 28 EU member states.

The EEA Agreement establishes the  EEA Financial Mechanism 2009-2014 through which the Donor States (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) will contribute to the reduction of economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area.

The EEA Financial Mechanism 2009-2014 also aims to strengthen relations between the Donor States and the Beneficiary State to the mutual benefit of their people. The enhanced co-operation between the Donor States and the Beneficiary State will contribute to securing a stable, peaceful and prosperous Europe, based on good governance, democratic institutions, the rule of law, respect for human rights and sustainable development.

The   Reception and Identification Service (RIS) of the Ministry of Interior and Administrative Reconstruction acts as a Project Promoter for 3 Wepredefined projects under Programme GR06 “Capacity building of national asylum and migration management systems”which are the following:

Project 1: Covering the operational costs of the First Reception Centre of FylakioEvros

Project 4: Covering the operational costs of the First Reception Centre in Lesvos

Project 5: Covering the operational costs for the two First Reception Mobile Units (A & B)

These projects are co-funded by the EEA Financial Mechanism 2009-2014 (85%) and national funds of the Public Investment Programme (15%).


The EEA Grants and Norway Grants represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway not only to reduce economic and social disparities but to strengthen bilateral relations with 16 EU countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics (beneficiary countries).   

Β. EEA Financial Mechanism 2009-2014& GREECE

In November 2011, the Hellenic Republic and the Donor States agreed to establish a framework for cooperation (Memorandum of Understanding)in order to ensure the effective implementation of theEEA Financial Mechanism 2009-2014.


Greece has received funding since the EEA Agreement came into force in 1994. For the period 2009-2014, Greece has been allocated €63.4 million, up from €34.3 million over the previous five-year period, and projects may be implemented until 2016.The financial contributions are targeted to the following priority sectors:

(a)   Environmental protection and management

(b)   Climate change and renewable energy

(c)    Civil society

(d)   Human and social development, and

(e)  Academic research